map reading course in the Derbyshire peak districtMap reading and Navigation Course in the Derbyshire Peak District

A 1 day map reading course, which will set you up with the basics of using a map and compass over easy terrain.

Are you new to hill walking, a regular walker, but always follow a book, or have never learned to use a compass? If so, this is the course for you!

Learn basic map reading and navigation skills whilst enjoying a short walk in the beautiful Derbyshire Peak District.

Course content includes understanding Ordnance Survey maps, using a compass, planning a route, working out where you are.

Due to the Coronavirus regulations we are minimising course numbers and will ensure all borrowed items have been sanitised. Please bring your own hand sanitiser. If you have had any virus symptoms or been in contact with anyone who has the virus, please do not come on the course. We would rather you re-arrange or we will offer you a full refund.

Dates for Summer 2021
• Saturday 19th June 1 place available
• Saturday 3rd July
• Friday 9th July
Saturday 10th July now fully booked
Saturday 17th July now fully booked
Saturday 31st July now fully booked
Friday 6th August now fully booked
• Saturday 7th August

Dates for Autumn 2021
• Saturday 4th September
• Saturday 11th September
• Saturday 2nd October
• Saturday 9th October
• Saturday 23rd October

Cost £60

The course starts with an introductory session, followed by a walk through fields and easy terrain using a map and compass.
Includes:
• using different maps
• contours relief & height
• using a compass
• taking a bearing from the map & walking on it
• planning a route
• pacing and timing
The course starts at 10:00 am and finishing at 4:30 pm.

To make a booking choose the course date from the drop down menu below and click on the ‘book now’ button.

First Steps to Map Reading and Navigation
First Steps to Map Reading and Navigation
A 1 day course, which will set you up with the basics of using a map and compass over fields and easy open moorland.

You might also be interested in our follow-on course “Moving on to Moorland Navigation

or a weekend of learning skills on our Silver National Navigation Award Course

or buy this course as a gift for Christmas or birthday

Map Reading Course Gift
Map Reading Course Gift
Give a friend a First Steps to Map Reading and Navigation course as a gift for birthday or Christmas.