map reading course in the Derbyshire peak districtMap reading and Navigation Course in the Derbyshire Peak District

A 1 day map reading course, which will set you up with the basics of using a map and compass over easy terrain.

Are you new to hill walking, a regular walker, but always follow a book, or have never learned to use a compass? If so, this is the course for you!

Learn basic map reading and navigation skills whilst enjoying a short walk in the beautiful Derbyshire Peak District.

Course content includes understanding Ordnance Survey maps, using a compass, planning a route, working out where you are.

Dates for Summer 2019
Wednesday 10th July now fully booked
Saturday 13th July now fully booked

Dates for Autumn 2019
Saturday 7th September now fully booked
Saturday 14th September now fully booked
• Saturday 5th October
• Saturday 12th October
• Saturday 2nd November
• Wednesday 6th November
• Saturday 9th November
• Saturday 23rd November
Cost £45

The course starts with an inside session, followed by a walk through fields and easy terrain using a map and compass.
Includes:
• using different maps
• contours relief & height
• using a compass
• taking a bearing from the map & walking on it
• planning a route
• pacing and timing
The course is based in Foolow, starting at 10:00 am and finishing at 4:30 pm.

To make a booking choose the course date from the drop down menu below and click on the ‘book now’ button.

Course dates :
Quantity:  

 

Map Reading Course Gift
Map Reading Course Gift
Give a friend a First Steps to Map Reading course as a gift for birthday or Christmas.

 

You might also be interested in our follow-on course “Moving on to Moorland Navigation

or a weekend of learning skills on our Silver National Navigation Award Course.