map reading course in the Derbyshire peak districtMap reading and Navigation Course in the Derbyshire Peak District

A 1 day map reading course, which will set you up with the basics of using a map and compass over easy terrain.

Are you new to hill walking, a regular walker, but always follow a book, or have never learned to use a compass? If so, this is the course for you!

Learn basic map reading and navigation skills whilst enjoying a short walk in the beautiful Derbyshire Peak District.

Course content includes understanding Ordnance Survey maps, using a compass, planning a route, working out where you are.

Due to the Coronavirus regulations we are minimising course numbers and will ensure all borrowed items have been sanitised. Please bring your own hand sanitiser. If you have had any virus symptoms or been in contact with anyone who has the virus, please do not come on the course. We would rather you re-arrange or we will offer you a full refund.

Dates for Autumn 2020
• Saturday 10th October now fully booked
Saturday 24th October now fully booked
Saturday 31st October now fully booked
Saturday 7th November now fully booked
Saturday 21st November now fully booked

Dates for Winter 2021
• Saturday 2nd January
• Saturday 9th January
• Saturday 23rd January
• Saturday 6th February
• Saturday 13th February
Saturday 20th February now fully booked
• Saturday 6th March
• Saturday 13th March
• Saturday 27th March

Dates for Spring 2021
• Saturday 10th April
Saturday 17th April now fully booked
• Saturday 1st May
• Friday 21st May
• Saturday 22nd May

Cost £60

The course starts with an inside session, followed by a walk through fields and easy terrain using a map and compass.
Includes:
• using different maps
• contours relief & height
• using a compass
• taking a bearing from the map & walking on it
• planning a route
• pacing and timing
The course starts at 10:00 am and finishing at 4:30 pm.

To make a booking choose the course date from the drop down menu below and click on the ‘book now’ button.

First Steps to Map Reading and Navigation
First Steps to Map Reading and Navigation
A 1 day course, which will set you up with the basics of using a map and compass over easy open moorland.

You might also be interested in our follow-on course “Moving on to Moorland Navigation

or a weekend of learning skills on our Silver National Navigation Award Course

or buy this course as a gift for Christmas or birthday

Map Reading Course Gift
Map Reading Course Gift
Give a friend a First Steps to Map Reading course as a gift for birthday or Christmas.